UMU logo

Felipe Cava is SEM Jaime Ferran Awardee - best young microbiologist in Spain 2017

cava felipe Elin Berge 2017[2017-05-02] The Spanish Society for Microbiology (SEM) awarded MIMS group leader Felipe Cava as best microbiologist in Spain for 2017. The Jaime Ferran Prize is the most prestigious recognition to a microbiologist in Spain, and is awarded to young scientists for their outstanding achievements in microbiology. The Federal European Microbiological Societies (FEMS) highlighted the awardee in a Spotlight interview on the 28 April 2017.

The prize is called after the Spanish physician Jaime Ferran who developed the first cholera vaccine in 1885. It consists of € 2000 and Felipe Cava is also invited to talk at the closing ceremony of the FEM congress in July this year.

Link to the FEMS spotlight about Felipe Cava (17-04-28)

Link to the FEMS 2017 Congress of European Microbiologists, July 9-13, Valencia, Spain

Link to the webpage of the Cava lab at MIMS

Link to the webpage of the Cava lab's own website

(picture: Elin Berge)

Emmanuelle Charpentier took the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Emmanuelle has been awarded jointly with Jennifer Doudna the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for discovering the groundbreaking CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing technology. She is a former group leader at MIMS, honorary doctor at Umeå University and former visiting professor at UCMR.

Movie by Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (

Battling antibiotic resistance

movie by Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, with participation of scientists from MIMS and UCMR:
Or watch the original movie on:

Research about infectious diseases:

Oliver Billker in movie of Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation:
Or watch the original movie on:

footer all slides 2014-02-06

Copyright © 2019 by The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS). All rights reserved.