UMU logo

Anna Överby Wernstedt awarded the 2021 Eric K Fernströms Prize

Text written by Nóra Lehotai. Picture: Anna Överby Wernstedt (on the right) with one of her group members in the lab. Credit: Mattias Petterson.

Överby lab 9870 210120 MPN

Anna Överby Wernstedt, Associate Professor at the Department of Clinical Microbiology, Umeå University, and senior MIMS group leader, got awarded the prestigious Eric K Fernströms Prize for her research efforts on tick-borne encephalitis (TBE) virus and other mosquito- and tick-borne flaviviruses.

"This prize means a lot to me both at the personal and at the professional level. It is always nice to be recognized by others because they see potential in what you do, and this gives you a confirmation that you are on the right track”-says Anna.

The Eric K Fernströms Prize is awarded each year to young, exceptionally promising, and successful researchers working at the six Swedish universities’ medical faculties. The prizes are managed by the medical faculty at Lund University, and the prize money is donated by the Eric K Fernströms Stiftelse.

Useful links:

More information about Anna Överby Wernstedt:

Press release of the Faculty of Medicine at Umeå University (in Swedish):

About the Eric K Fernströms Stiftelse:

Emmanuelle Charpentier took the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Emmanuelle has been awarded jointly with Jennifer Doudna the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for discovering the groundbreaking CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing technology. She is a former group leader at MIMS, honorary doctor at Umeå University and former visiting professor at UCMR.

Movie by Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (

Battling antibiotic resistance

movie by Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, with participation of scientists from MIMS and UCMR:
Or watch the original movie on:

Research about infectious diseases:

Oliver Billker in movie of Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation:
Or watch the original movie on:

footer all slides 2014-02-06

Copyright © 2019 by The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS). All rights reserved.