UMU logo

shapeimage 3

Ribosome-associated factors involved in stress responses and antibiotic resistance

PI: Vasili Hauryliuk, PhD, associate professor

Ragnar Söderberg Fellow in Medicine 2014

Eric K. Fernströms Stiftelse Svenska Priset 2019

Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation-funded project 2020: 'Decoding bacterial toxin-antitoxin systems: from high-throughput discovery to molecular mechanisms and biotechnology'

Our research interests are molecular mechanisms and evolution of ribosomal protein synthesis and its regulation. The lab is using a combination of biochemical, microbiological and next-generation sequencing approaches and supported by collaboration with structural and evolutionary biologists to tackle three highly complementary research directions:

  • Structure-functional studies of ribosome-associated and ribosome-independent enzymes RelA-SpoT Homologue (RSH) enzymes controlling intracellular levels of alarmone nucleotide (p)ppGpp in bacteria; development of selective inhibitors of RSH enzymes
  • Structure-functional studies of bacterial toxin-antitoxin systems
  • Structure-functional studies of bacterial ABCF ATPases involved in translational regulation and antibiotic resistance
  • Structure-functional studies of eukaryotic ABCF ATPase translation factors with a special focus on yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae
Our research is supported by Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, the Swedish Research Council, Kempe foundation, Ragnar Söderberg foundation, Swedish Foundation for International Cooperation in Research and Higher Education, and Umeå University funds. The Hauryliuk lab closely collaborates with the group of Gemma Atkinson.

Do you want to join us for a postdoctoral project - either experimental or bioinformatics? Please send me an letter to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. We have multiple openings on all levels.

footer all slides 2014-02-06

Copyright © 2019 by The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS). All rights reserved.